Wild Beasts – Assembly

9 11 2007

 When I first heard their last single, Through Dark Night, I thought it was a joke. The b-side seemed to confirm it for me. It conjured up memories of The Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band or Antony & The Johnsons enjoying a knees-up at a helium party. But I found myself, strangely drawn to listen to it again and soon enough, I had decided they were a really special band. Hearing their previous single, Brave Bulging Buoyant Clairvoyants confirmed it for me.

They’ve since been signed to Domino Records but they’re not likely to do an Arctic Monkeys as it’s far stranger than that. The obscenely high voice, the pencil moustache, the amateur dramatics, the upright piano, the bizarre costumes and the veils!  It’s strangely compelling and I’ve a feeling they will completely divide people but I’m on the side of the beasts.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

