Aphex Twin Documentary

7 12 2007

ambient-works.jpg

Thanks to Jasper for the tip on this one but there’s a documentary on Aphex Twin’s Selected Ambient Works 85-92 album here. I haven’t had a chance to listen to it yet but I look forward to listening to it at the weekend. Selected Ambient Works 85-92 is a brilliant record – probably my second favourite of that vague genre after Brian Eno & Harold Budd’s Ambient 2: The Plateau of Mirror (although it’s a million miles away from Aphex’s brand of ambient). My only problem with the album is ‘Green Calx’ which never quite fitted in with the whole sound for me. But it’s still my favourite Aphex album. And why does no-one mention that he was born in Ireland?

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 12 2007
Jasper

Lyric have a brilliant six part decade by decade series on the history of electronic music as well. You can stream it at: http://www.rte.ie/lyricfm/sundaysequence/

10 12 2007
gardenhead

Brill! Can’t wait to check this out. I agree over green calx, it happens in a lot of great electronic albums no? Something sticks out like a sore thumb and ruins the entire flow. I’d charge Rue the whirl on Boards of Canada’s music has the right to children with the same offence.

4 04 2012
Neutrality

I couldn’t imagine Music has the right to children without Rue the whirl. I respect your opinion nonetheless.

5 07 2010
Blockwall

I think Green Calx is quite a good song. It just doesn’t go with the relaxing chillout theme of the rest of the album, as it goes in a darker, more volatile direction.
Creating an important contrast when looking at the album as a whole.

Besides, it’s a completely unique song, you just have to be ready for a ride.

Leave a Reply

