Music From This Charming Couch

17 01 2008

So over the last few days, I’ve been recovering from an operation and lying in bed or on the couch listening to loads of new music and catching up on stuff I haven’t really got around to listening to properly. And the following things have struck me:

Burial is completely over-rated. ‘Untrue’ is a really average album that doesn’t do anything interesting and is full of horrible sped-up vocals. Can anyone explain this one to me? Why do so many people love this record?

There’s a wonderful record by a band called ‘One More Grain’ who sound like how I imagine The Fall would if they made a jazz record. I also really like the Los Campesinos! album (‘Hold On Now, Youngster’). I was concerned that I wouldn’t. Some of the singles they released weren’t as good as the stuff off the demo which first tweaked my interest but the album is tremendously smile-enducing and contains some of the best one-liners I’ve heard in ages. The forthcoming eponymous ‘Vampire Weekend’ is another record that has been making me grin a lot. There’s one particularly brilliant song on it, ‘M79’, that sounds completely out of step with everything else that’s going on at the moment and so much better for that.

 The new British Sea Power album, ‘Do You Like Rock Music’ is rather excellent in a massive anthemic-type way. I’m looking forward to listening to it walking through the city. There’s an album called ‘Inlandish’ by Hans-Joachim Roedelius & Tim Story which is rather good for falling asleep to. I mean that as a compliment. I’ve also been shaking my toes to lots of Rockabilly stuff which I’ve been getting more and more into of late. It’s funny that however much music you listen to, there is always a world of music, new and old, that lays undiscovered to you.

I also watched David Lynch’s ‘Inland Empire’ which made no sense to me so I gave up half-way through and I have been sitting through some of the BBC4 Pop documentaries I recorded over the last few weeks. There were a couple of great ones about what makes a great pop song. Paul Morley made a very enjoyable one where he dissected six songs which he considered to be amongst the best pop songs ever made and spoke to people who were involved with the song or who it had a marked effect on. One of the ones he examined was The Smiths’ ‘This Charming Man’, a song I have loved for a long time but it totally showed it to me in a new light – the lyrics made sense to me in a way I hadn’t seen before and its’ absolute genius is even more apparent than ever before. Have a look here:

Actions

Information

6 responses

17 01 2008
Jasper

I think “Untrue” is a fantastic album! The first album was a over rated but this one deserves the praise its getting – moody, dark 5am Sunday morning music!

17 01 2008
graveyardshiftshane

This is what I keep hearing. Perhaps I need to listen to it at 5am on a Sunday morning. I only heard the first one once but I remember quie liking it on first listen whereas ‘Untrue’ hasn’t grabbed me at all.

17 01 2008
Matt Vinyl

That’s a great video. They’re getting a bit nerdy with the dissection of the lyrics but its still interesting. My brother brought me to see The Smiths in Dundalk in 1986, just when I was really getting into music. I’m still a huge fan of theirs. Have you ever checked out the South Bank Show special that they did years ago?

18 01 2008
graveyardshiftshane

Yeah, it’s certainly nerdy but no more than any dissection of poetry really. It’s a bit like being back in English class. I’m very jealous of you – I never got to see them. I’ve seen The South Bank Show Special though haven’t watched it in years. Perhaps, I should make a visit to YouTube…

18 01 2008
Jasper

This is what I keep hearing. Perhaps I need to listen to it at 5am on a Sunday morning. I only heard the first one once but I remember quie liking it on first listen whereas ‘Untrue’ hasn’t grabbed me at all.

Have you heard his remix of Thom Yorke? Excellent stuff as well. The entire “Eraser remixes” release is brilliant.

19 01 2008
graveyardshiftshane

No, haven’t listened to them yet. must do that. thanks for reminding me

Leave a Reply

