Menomena – The Sugar Club

4 03 2008

Haven’t had a chance to write about Friday’s Menomena gig but it was as ace as I had imagined it would be. I was only familiar with Friend & Foe, which I really like – I even featured it as an Under The Radar album on Friday – but I did purchase the first Menomena album, ‘I am the Fun Blame Monster’ at the show. What struck me at the show is how rhythmic their sound is. It’s all based around drums and bass, essentially, and they sounded even punchier and thumpinger (I know it’s not a real word but I’m letting it exist) than they do on the record. And, it became apparent what a great drummer Danny Seim is.

They could certainly be accused of lacking stage presence, though I don’t think that’s why you go to a Menomena show. It’s obvious that music is the most important thing here and it didn’t falter at any point. ‘The Pelican’, ‘Evil Bee’, ‘Wet & Rusting’ and ‘Boyscout’n’ particularly stood out, what with all their disjointed grooves and melodic swirls. It was great to see such a good turn out for the show – I wasn’t sure how many people were aware of them here but perhaps next time a venue like Whelan’s might be more suited to them. 

Above, you’ll find a video of ‘The Pelican’ recorded live in Chicago.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

