Hercules & Love Affair Album Guide

27 03 2008

Hercules & Love Affair

I know I’ve written about Hercules & Love affair a couple of times over the last few months but I finally got the album earlier this week. It’s been a busy couple of weeks for albums. As well as of a pile of oldies I picked up on holidays, there have also been new releases from Goldfrapp, MGMT, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Kills, Monade, Foals and various other stuff. So on the few listens I’ve had, ‘Hercules & Love Affair’ seems like a bit of a mixed bag. The good bits are pretty spectacular. These peak with the Antony collaborations and ‘Hercules Theme’. Some of the tracks veer slightly too heavily towards Latino-House but that is probably defendable, seeing as it’s kind of a history of dance music in one album from Disco through to Synthpop, Early 80’s electro, Chicago House, Rave to blissed-out Balaeric Beats. I’m still not ruling out the possibility that they’ll grow on me. ‘Blind’ is definitely the standout but it’s hard to beat a song that, to my ears, sounds like an instant classic. It’s the kind of track that will still be played in clubs for years to come.

Here’s a track by track guide to the album as talked through by Andy Butler, who explains how the album all came about.

Actions

Information

One response

10 09 2009
sandrar

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

